Linux File System

It took me a while to understand this file system. I felt maybe because I tried to use big grammars instead of just simplifying it. The moment I realized how to break it down into simple English, I understood it better and I enjoy it. This is what prompt me to write it here for people like me to also get it easily. This is going to be like summary

What is File System File system is what controls the when, where, and how a system function. File system is like root directory, type of data storage, logical volume or partition in the system.

There are 4 major parts of file system

  1. Kernel
  2. Virtual file system
  3. File types
  4. Hardware

Kernel is the brain box of the linux system. This is where the processes take place. Let me site an example, when you want to get information about a particular product you want to buy online, you send the request to the vendor, vendor checks if they have in store, then send the information back to you. The particular place where the vendor went to check for this information is synonymous to a kernel. We get information about everything we want on file system from the kernel.

Virtual file system, this is where file information are stored.

We have • Root file - where the root files are stored • Bin file - this is where the executable files are stored • Etc file - this contains the local system. It is very sensitive, don't edit what you don't know. You might destroy your operating system. • Mnt file - this is where mount points are stored. • Usr file - it stores some of the user configurations.

File types

We have the Ext, Ext2, Ext3, Ext4, hpfs, vfat, freebsd.

Hardware, which is your local device that receives the information that you sent to the kernel for your visibility.

I hope you got the file system from this summary.

Thank you for reading.