What made me to become a software engineer

I am glad about this writing contest, even tho I got the information late, I will still participate. Here is my story of how I am transitioning from being a farmer to being a software engineer.

In 2019, when I was about to graduate from the University. I remembered our first day in class when they told us that we could work anywhere with our certificate as a soil scientist, then I knew that I needed to do more work in other to use my certificate. This is because my country doesn't regard the course and I knew that the only way I could practice was to leave my country. While thinking about leaving, I thought of adding a digital skill to my certificate, then I started my copywriting journey. I wrote cookbooks for a while. Deep down, I wasn't satisfied, I knew I could do more for myself other than writing, I knew I could create solutions to more problem. So one day, I googled for upcoming top skill, then I came across cloud computing. I searched online for tutorials, videos, syllabus if possible on cloud computing but I couldn't get a tangible one. The tangible ones I got were not newbie friendly.

In 2020, I saw my old university mate (Olugbohunmi Joseph) with google bag, then I told myself 'I think I finally found what I want to do'. I told him how much I loved looking forward to working with google, I asked him how I should start the tech journey since he already started when we were in the University. He took me to a place where I could learn frontend development. I started in second week in March 2020. Then the greatest lockdown started 3rd week in March, so I wasn't able to continue learning at the center because I had to travel back home. My friend told me that I could keep watching videos online and practicing which I listened to. One faithful night, my laptop was stolen through the window. I was devastated because my writing journey was at stake and my journey on being a software engineer also. I tried getting another laptop but by the time I got it, I'd already forgotten how to write 'hello world' in html.

In 2021, I got a job at a company to be the customer care representative. With this effect, I totally forgot my journey as a software engineer. It took me 7months to realize that I dropped to best thing I wanted for myself behind. In November 2021, I resigned from the company I was working with, I had many reasons to. Some of them were verbal abuse, mental health demoralizing, unappreciative manners. I signed up with an online school to attain a diploma in cloud engineering.

In 2022, I finally started my journey to being a software engineer. We started with frontend (html, css, and JavaScript), I can boldly call myself a frontend developer now. I'm actively seeking for internship role or junior role in frontend development. I have started my main motive which is to become a cloud engineer also. I have started working with Ubuntu terminal. I generated ssh private and public keys and also pasted it on digital ocean. I am loving my journey so far.

Thank you for reading.